Patchwork Quilt

My grief is like a patchwork quilt. Seemingly disjointed and chaotic. Yet, a unified whole. Each piece is a thought, feeling, memory – created in a moment and veiled now by time. The shapes, colors, and textures of memory are whispers of a feeling once felt – they are echoes of what once was. They are shadows of someone – reflections of the loss that is now present. Residing between the rational and the emotional, my jumbled heart strives to make sense of this quilt, to understand and see the whole that each piece creates.

My grief is like a patchwork quilt. It blankets me in sorrow, yet congruously wraps and envelops me in hope. The paradox of grief for a follower of Christ is poignant and palpable to my lamenting heart. I cherish the sorrow, the pain. For within the constraints of my grief – the prison of this body and of time – I am freed to know the peace and comfort of Christ. Bound by the pieces of this patchwork quilt, I am reminded of the terrible and earth-shattering love of Christ that assures me that I am His, and He is mine. My grief attests to my loss in the here and now and heralds the hope I have in Jesus.

My grief is like a patchwork quilt. Disjointed, whole. Vast, intimate. Constraining, freeing. Sorrowful, joyful. A compendium of memory, feeling, and relationship. My grief and sorrow, a tender mercy – this quilt is sewn and stitched by my Redeemer, the Comforter and Lover of my soul. Soli Deo Gloria.

GriefPhoto

Leave a Reply

